Dust Episode – 16 October 2021

High concentrations of dust are observed in the air today, 16 October 2021, according to measurements from ground Stations of the Air Quality Monitoring Network operated by the Department of Labour Inspection.

The public, and particularly any vulnerable groups of population (children, older people, and the infirm) are urged to avoid circulating in open spaces until the observed episode has elapsed, as the small size of respirable particles in dust may have negative effects on human health.

In detail, the latest hourly dust concentrations measured at 5:00 pm in the following areas are:

Nicosia:                          109  μg/m3

Limassol:                          47  μg/m3

Larnaca:                           48  μg/m3

Paphos:                          121  μg/m3

Paralimni:                         19  μg/m3

Zygi:                                 46  μg/m3

Ayia Marina Xyliatou:       113  μg/m3

It is noted that ‘dust’ refers to respirable particulate matter of a diameter smaller than 10 μm (PM10) in the air. According to the relevant legislation, a limit value not to be exceeded is set for the daily average concentrations at 50 μg/m3 (micrograms per cubic meter).

More information on the measured pollutant concentrations and real-time updates is available online at www.airquality.gov.cy, and also through the free mobile application ‘Air Quality Cyprus’.



Date: 16.10.2021   



                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR INSPECTION

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          MINISTRY OF LABOUR,

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                WELFARE AND SOCIAL INSURANCE